Ariana Grande’s New Album is Dangerously Exciting

Grande produces her third studio album, Dangerous Woman

Grande produces her third studio album, Dangerous Woman

By: Theodore Coursen, Spring Editor


Seductive photo taken for Grande's new album Dangerous Woman
Seductive photo taken for Grande’s new album Dangerous Woman

On May 20, 2016, Ariana Grande released her third studio album Dangerous Woman. The album was produced by Max Martin, Savan Kotecha, and Grande herself.

Grande’s previous single Focus released in October of 2015 was originally going to be part of the album, but the song was cut from the standard edition.

The first single, and also the title track of the album was Dangerous Woman. The song was released on March 11, and peaked at number 8 on the Billboard Hot 100 (As of June 1, 2016). The second single from the album, Into You, was just released on May 6th. Grande performed the new single on the Billboard Awards on May 22nd. The song peaked at 51 on the Billboard Hot 100 (As of June 1, 2016).

In this review, the fifteen tracks on the album will be ranked and divided into categories; The Bad, The Good, The Best, and The Best of the Best. 

Advisory: Some of the songs on this album are explicit.

The Bad

15. Knew Better/Forever Boy- “Oh, be forever mine, boy all the time.”

This is the first song that Grande has ever released that is two songs in one. However they are both rather mediocre songs. The track does not really stand out in any way. The song feels as though it is a filler track that the producers used to make the album longer. 

14. Be Alright- We decide it, we’re gonna be alright” 

Be Alright was released as a promotional single for the album on March 18th. Although the song peaked at #3 on the iTunes chart, the lyrics are boring and a bit repetitive. The music detracts a lot from the song, and it doesn’t fit with the rest of the album. 

13. I Don’t Care- I don’t care about it, anymore.” EXPLICIT

A nice slow song, but there really isn’t much there. The music is attractive but the lyrics are a bit dry. This song will probably be forgotten by most of her fans, it was the last song recorded for the album, but definitely not one of the best. 

The Good 

12. Let Me Love You (ft. Lil Wayne)- Just let me lo-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-ve you, you” EXPLICIT

A catchy and fun track. Lil Wayne and Grande’s styles blend very well in this song. A hint of sexy, or maybe a lot more than a hint. The music video for the song was released on May 22nd, it features (an always stunning) Ariana Grande, and Lil Wayne performing their song together. Although the songs is not anywhere near the best on the record, it is surely a magnificent song. 

11. Thinking Bout You- I’m just thinking bout you, I’m thinking bout you” EXPLICIT

The final track on the deluxe edition of the album, and a very strong finish to the album. The song sets a different tone than most of the album, it tells the story of heartbreak and missing a person you once cared so much about. It is very easy to relate to this song if you ever have lost someone close to you. Be prepared with a box of tissues if you plan to listen to this beautiful track. 

10. Sometimes- I ain’t even think of leaving sometimes, I ain’t even think of letting go”

A ‘summer’ track, is what I’d like to call this song. A romantic and sunny pop song. This is the type of song I would want to add to a beach playlist. The song will put anyone in a good mood. Not quite deserving of The Best, but surely a pleasing romantic song to listen to. 

9. Bad Decisions- Boy you make me make bad decisions” EXPLICIT

Grande shows off her bad girl side in this track. An interesting and fast paced track. This is the type of song you want to blast on your car radio. Had the song been promoted a bit more, it potentially could have become a single in my opinion, however it is generally seen as a supporting track on the album.

The Best

8. Side to Side (ft. Nicki Minaj)- I’ve been here all day, I’ve been here all night, and boy you got me walking side to side” EXPLICIT

Nicki Minaj and Ariana Grande together produce wicked songs. As evident in previous singles such as Bang Bang and Get On Your Knees, this song does not disappoint. The song has a reggae vibe that makes you want to rock from side to side with the beat. Nicki’s rap verse slays as always. On May 14th, Minaj hinted that the song will have a music video. Meaning that song may become a single in the future. 

7. Moonlight- Cause I never knew, I never knew you could hold moonlight in your hands ’til the night I held you.”

The Opening Track to Dangerous Woman. It as calming and originally was going to be the title track of the album, but Grande changed it before the release. The song was written by Grande about her boyfriend Ricky Alvarez, who calls her Moonlightbae. A beautiful relaxing song to kick off an amazing album. The song reminds me of Tattooed Heart from Grande’s first album, Yours Truly. 

6. Everyday (ft. Future)- Oh he give it to me, everyday, everyday” EXPLICIT

This song is bad, but in the best way possible. Future and Grande team up to produce a seductive and sexy track that will surely be stuck in your head after the first or second listen. Everyday will make you want to get up and dance and the bass is a killer.

5. Touch It- “Take me all the way, ain’t nobody gonna touch it, touch it”

Very unexpected. The title does not allude to the true nature of the song. Grande really puts her heart and her feelings into this track. Not necessarily a sad track, but definitely one full of emotion and passion. The song is about wanting the person you care most about to come home to you, it is sure to make you think about a special someone in your life. 

The Best of the Best

4. Leave Me Lonely (ft. Macy Gray)- Cause if you’re gonna love me and leave me hanging here, Then I’d rather you leave, leave me lonely”

Jazz and soul singer Macy Gray and Grande together send chills down the listeners back. Grande puts her vocal limits to the test in this song as she vehemently sings about giving up on a lover who does not want her as much as she wants him. This song is deserving of Best of the Best because it is the most passionate song on the album. If you are experiencing heart break, the song will surely draw tears from you.

3. Greedy- “Baby you got lucky ‘cause you’re rocking with the best, and I’m greedy”

Greedy is no doubt the most fun song on the album. Many fans say the song has a 1970’s/80’s vibe to it infused with the modern times. The lyrics stick to your mind like gum. A rather ‘honest’ song about Grande’s greed for physical love. This song is deserving of Best of the Best because after one listen, you will not stop singing the song all week.

2. Dangerous Woman- “Something ’bout you, makes me feel like a dangerous woman”

Dangerous, just like the title of the song. Dangerous Woman is the title track of the album and the first hit single off of the album as well. Dangerously catchy, the song is daring and a little outside of Grande’s style. A fun and powerful track that will make you wanna hit replay. This song is deserving of Best of the Best because it defines her new style as an artist. It shows her growth from her Nickelodeon days to the year 2016.

1. Into You- “A little less conversation, and a little more touch my body‘Cause I’m so into you, into you, into you”

Seductive, energetic, and the best song on the album. The song makes you want to fall in love. The chorus is addicting, and the song belongs at the top of the charts. Grande performed the song on the Billboard Awards and received amazing reviews for it. The song deserves the top spot on the list because the track will leave you smiling and speechless after the first listen. Truly an prime example of Grande’s skills and capability as an artist.  

Print Friendly, PDF & Email